Schools and Colleges
School of Science

Profile of the School of Science

The School of Science of Xi’an Jiaotong University (XJTU) was founded in 1930 and then renamed as the Science College in 1937. When the school system was resumed at the university in 1994, the School of Science was formally reinstated. Currently, it is composed of two disciplines, i.e. physics and chemistry. Physics discipline is authorized to confer PhD degrees, and the chemistry discipline is authorized to confer master degrees. Condensed matter physics and optics are renowned as key programs in Shaanxi, while material physics and chemistry is a national key program.

The school boasts the Shaanxi Key Lab for Advanced Functional Materials and Mesoscopic Physics, the MOE (Ministry of Education) Key Laboratory for Non-Equilibrium Synthesis and Modulation of Condensed Matter, National Teaching Base for Engineering Physics, and the National Physics Experimental Teaching Demo Center, the Frontier Institutes for Physics and Chemistry, which gathers quality talents and operates the international scientific and technological management system.

The school offers bachelor programs in five specialties, i.e, applied physics, optical information science and technology, and material physics, applied chemistry, material chemistry and sets up 1 national basic discipline (physics) elites pilot class. Applied physics, optical information science and technology, and material physics are commended as distinguished bachelor subjects in Shaanxi.

Aiming at the best teaching and innovative research in basic science, the School of Science attaches great importance to teaching and always puts student education on its top agenda. Notable accomplishments have been made in this regard. In recent years, numerous students have plucked special, first and third prizes on the national challenge cup collegiate competition. One undergraduate earned first prize on the first national collegiate physics experiment competition. A number of undergraduate students published academic papers on prestigious international journals. Three doctoral dissertations were nominated as the best dissertation in China. One PhD student’s paper was recognized as the most influential 100 international papers in China. The school boasts reputable, dedicated, and diligent faculty in the forefront of teaching, including 4 members of MOE teaching steering committee, 2 Shaanxi outstanding instructors, and 2 XJTU outstanding instructors. The school values teaching and educational reforms and have won numerous teaching prizes, including 2 second national teaching awards.

Research wise, the school emphasizes the basic researches and engages itself in interdisciplinary studies in physics, chemistry and applied engineering. The school carves a niche in integrated studies of science and engineering. The school has generated notable results in condensed matter physics and nano materials. The school commits to researches in nano materials, mesocrystal growth, quantum optics theory and practice, spatial optics, theoretical physics, bio-physics, quantum chemistry, polymer physics and chemistry, and photoelectric synthesis etc. In recent three years, the school has gained financial supports from 88 projects, including the National Basic Research Program of China (973 Program), the Hi-Tech R&D Project (National 863 Program), as well as National Natural Science Foundation Project etc. The school has authored over 400 SCI papers and won 11 provincial and ministerial awards in science and technology community. In 2007, the school was awarded the second National Science and Technology Advancement prize.

The School of Science has a total of 180 faculty members, including 39 professors, 3 “Thousand Talents Project” distinguished professors, 1 Changjiang chair professor, and 7 MOE New Century Talents faculty.