Welcome to Xi'an Jiaotong University!

XJTU teams up with Samarkand State University to establish China Center

October 20, 2023
  L M S


Xi'an Jiaotong University and Samarkand State University in Uzbekistan sign an agreement to establish the "China Center."

On Oct 17, Xi'an Jiaotong University (XJTU) and Samarkand State University in Uzbekistan signed an agreement to establish the "China Center," a collaborative initiative. The agreement was signed by Wang Shuguo, president of XJTU, and Khalmuradov Rustam Ibragimovich, rector of Samarkand State University.

Wang stated that the establishment of the "China Center" through collaboration between the two universities signifies a major first step in XJTU's efforts to promote educational exchanges and cooperation in Central Asia.

He mentioned that XJTU will actively align with the educational needs of Samarkand State University and mobilize resources from XJTU to advance educational exchanges through the "China Center" in Uzbekistan.

He also expressed hope that both universities, using the "China Center" as a starting point, will deepen their cooperation in various respects, including student and teacher exchanges, and industry-academia collaboration.

Khalmuradov Rustam Ibragimovich warmly welcomed the delegation from XJTU. He said that he hopes that the "University Alliance of the Silk Road" and the collaborative establishment of the "China Center" between the two universities can provide practical assistance to both countries' people, promote educational cooperation between Uzbekistan and China, and facilitate communication and exchanges between the young people from both nations.

In the future, the "China Center" will be engaged in activities related to school-enterprise collaboration, talent development, and inter-university exchanges. It will establish regular working mechanisms between the two universities, with a focus on teaching Chinese culture, exploring a new paradigm in comprehensive and multi-level cooperation between Chinese and Uzbekistani higher education institutions.